Jun. 2 – Concierto de Aranjuez


Thursday, June 2—7:30 PM (rescheduled from Jan 8)
First Baptist Church, Shreveport *note venue change*
Shreveport Symphony Orchestra
Michael Butterman, conductor
Jason Vieaux, guitar
Mike Martindale, narrator

Solo works for guitar:
J.S. BACH  Presto from Violin Sonata No. 1
ALBÉNIZ/Barrueco  Asturias
ARMSTRONG/Vieaux  What a Wonderful World
ELLINGTON/Vieaux  In a Sentimental Mood

Orchestral works:
RODRIGO  Concierto de Aranjuez
STRAUSS  Suite from Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme with narrator

The SSO welcomes back GRAMMY-winning classical guitarist Jason Vieaux to perform solo works by Bach, Albéniz, Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington arranged for guitar, followed by Rodrigo’s popular and evocative Concierto de Aranjuez. Strauss’ lyrical and humorous take on Molière will close the evening.

Tickets start at $20
Children (12 & under): $10; Students (w/ID): $15 (call to order)